Skip to content

On Coaching

May 6, 2010

Roll the lines? Play to win?

My first spring hockey tournament has come and gone, and it really opened my eyes to the realities of coaching. People have always told me that it’s impossible to please everyone, and this has never rang more true. The parents whose kids get the most ice time should probably keep their mouths shut and just be happy, correct? APPARENTLY NOT. There’s only so much ice to go around, so when you’re rolling the lines, people will be unhappy, and when you load up with your jets, these same people still aren’t happy. Out of my control? Yes.

The lesson here is that as long as you believe in what you’re doing and have a leg to stand on, then hopefully you’ll be able to sleep at night. I had a terrible sleep last night, but that’s due to suddenly living alone and having no blankets. But I’m not complaining, I’ve watched more Ghost Hunters and Destination Truth than I ever thought possible this week. What, hockey? Oh yeah.

I’ve discovered a sure-fire formula for skill development though: don’t listen to the parents. I’ve got an unreal, hard-working group of players that all want to get better. We practice cycle drills where players have to make hard, flat passes, while moving their feet, and taking quick shots, all within the framework of a basic powerplay. It’s awesome. The team concept improves through repetition of individual-based skills. Man I’m tired of being right.

Go Bruins!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:42 am

    Which goes to show what good hockey parents you had since they never complained about your ice time, even when they would have had a strong case. I would never want to coach kids in anything…normally sane adults become completely crazy dreaming of their kids doing what they never accomplished and forgetting that there actually is no “I” in team. Put them in swimming or figure skating if you need them to be individuals, otherwise sit down, shut up, and enjoy the success of a well-coached hockey team achieving it’s goals and winning games!

  2. May 7, 2010 2:09 pm

    Booya.

Leave a Reply

