Skip to content

Alls Well That Ends Well

April 11, 2010

The Edmonton Oilers play their final hockey game of the season tonight against a fellow non-playoff team in the Anaheim Ducks. There’s not a lot to say, though the bottom line remains that this season the Oilers didn’t play well enough to a man, they didn’t score more goals than their opponents on enough occasions, and they ultimately failed in every conceivable way. Sometimes things just don’t work out, and you can try to write about it and talk about it and figure it out until you’re blue in the face, though often you’re left with more questions than answers. This team has questions aplenty, and only those that are blue in the heart as well will stick around to figure it out.

This feels like a post-mortem, which I suppose it is, but obviously there are better times ahead. Well, the team can’t be any worse, that’s a fer-sure, but I’m generally optimistic and excited to stay tuned to the happenings. I learned long ago that if I disconnect myself from a professional sports franchise, then they’re a lot more fun to watch and I learn a lot more when they totally dominate the suck dial every chance they get.

As this is the first year I’ve written articles based around my passion for coaching and watching hockey, I don’t know what’s in store for the off-season. I suppose I can still be whatever I wanna do, so I’ll write more about coaching as I get my spring hockey team rolling. I have some new projects and undertakings that I’m going to be, uh, undertaking, and that all ties in to Barnorth.

Thank you to the Oilers for giving us all so much to write/talk/bitch/complain about this season. ‘Twould be a dark and dreary winter indeed without the game.

Go Wings Oilers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:41 pm

    I am so glad the Oilers season is finally over! Though the WSF contest helped to keep things exciting, it is difficult to cheer for a team that is as bad as the Oilers were this year. I can handle mediocore talent with lots of heart, but no talent and no heart is too much for this hockey fan. I have never felt this way about an Oilers team (proven since I wish Jason Smith still played for the team) but it’s time for an overhaul…I hope Horcoff and Moreau are around next year but if we need to lose them to re-vitalize than so be it!

    Go Coyotes!

  2. April 12, 2010 12:49 pm

    They’ll be around, there’s no doubt, but guess who won’t! Souray! Trade!
    It’s nice it’s over, let the playoffs and real hockey begin!

  3. Jenn permalink
    April 15, 2010 8:01 am

    Since he apparently wanted out last year they had better find a place for him..maybe he’ll end up in Columbus. I think that would be the worst team to play for..and he deserves it.

    • April 16, 2010 9:50 am

      Yep, or Atlanta, or the minors. He’s a good player, but Whitney is better.

Leave a Reply

