Skip to content

Stress!

February 19, 2010

Hey, what are doing in February, 2010?

Canada’s second game of the Olympic tournament caused nothing but stress all across this great nation. I’ll get to the important stress first: that which affected me. I love the PVR, I can watch all the games I want, Oilers and otherwise, but trying to leave work without knowing the scores is intensely frustrating. It almost isn’t worth it. When I’m on the ice at work there’s a bar through some windows at the east end of the rink, and of course it was showing Canada vs. Switzerland last night. I constantly positioned myself so I couldn’t be tempted to peek through the glass to check the score. I imagine some parents in the crowd were wondering why I was covering my eyes and ears and yelling at the top of my lungs while I was supposed to be teaching wrist-shots. Then I get a text message from my sister on the way out of the rink “Are you nervous yet?” ‘Twas enough to drive a guy insane.

I eventually got to watch the game on my own terms, and sis was right, it was nerve-wracking. Hand it to the Swiss, they stepped up when it counted. I thought Team Canada’s style was the opposite of the first game; trying too hard to shoot the puck at every angle and crash the net. That’s odd to say, because usually Canadian hockey is all about greasy goals, but aside from Sid the Kid, I thought the Canadians could’ve tried more often to make plays instead of just shooting right at Hiller. The young Swiss(er? an?) played good, there’s no doubt, but I think Team Canada boosted his confidence unnecessarily. As for Crosby, whatever he decides to do is probably the right decision. This guy agrees with me.

In any event, the result was positive, and the game was played in dramatic fashion. I absolutely loved Crosby’s shoot-out goal. No dekes, no messin’ around, just pure snipe. One of the commentatators nailed when he said that the team needs a little adversity, so hopefully the preliminary round serves as such. They’ll need that composure that only comes from having been involved together in a battle such as the Swiss game as they get into more intense situations, a la the Americans and their Brian Burke abrasiveness.

The Olympics are awesome. Go Canada!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 8:39 pm

    remember stress is just a word, it is how a person handles(or a team) adversity;pretty wise words see you tomorrow night

  2. Jenn permalink
    February 20, 2010 11:14 pm

    He is wise.

  3. Tricia permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:33 pm

    so very wise…he is where all of us get all of our wisdom from

Leave a Reply

