Skip to content

The Red and White

February 17, 2010

Ha ha! Rick gets no attention!

Olympic hockey has begun and the passion Canadians have for the game is certainly evident in Vancouver along with the rest of the nation, I would argue. It’s just a little more difficult to see, what with all the game watching probably happening from the comfort of one’s couch. Granted, the men have only played once, so I’ll be interested to see what the streets look like in just under two weeks. Red and White, if I had to guess.

Olympic thoughts:

– Snowboarding is my second sport of choice, and I can’t believe how amazing it is to watch it in the olympics. Maelle Ricker has done the nation proud, and she’s now a name I’ll never forget. Watching snowboard-cross and the halfpipe gives me chills; the control that the riders have is astounding, while at the same time I feel like they’re pushing the brink of sanity, and disaster could be just over the next burner.

– As I just stated, I love snowboarding, so I have an intrinsic distaste for two-planking. I have to say though, for a guy that feels sports should be kept to the product on the ice, or on the hill, regardless of an athlete’s background, Alexandre Bilodeau’s relationship with his brother and the inspiration he gets from it is sincere, honest, and truly heartwarming.

– The Canadian women’s hockey team literally scored every ten seconds against Sweden today. I have no desire to watch them anymore. The goal differential tie-breaker is an awful rule. Every team except Canada and the USA should get to pick a player of their choice from the men’s side. Imagine Rick Nash bearing down on a breakaway? I’d watch that!

– Why did Sidney Crosby seem to be alone on an island for much of the game, yet end with three assists? Does he think the game at this level all the time, and he’s waiting for the other superstars to catch up? It’s going to get far more interesting to see who steps up on this stage. If the San Jose line can keep it going, they (The Sharks) will be my choice to win the Stanley Cup. And by keep it going, I don’t mean Dany Heatley standing in the slot waiting for a pass without forechecking whatsoever. Yeah, you have a nice one-timer, we get it.

– Team Canada’s men’s hockey team, despite that new-car smell, looks like just that: a hockey team (not a car, silly). Depth, players to fill roles, youthful exuberance (and jitters), and veteran savvy. Scott Neidermayer played like the captain of the greatest hockey nation on Earth last night, Jarome Iginla turned a period of hard checking into a first-line hat-trick, Drew Doughty is straight out of the movie Youngblood (except he doesn’t use the squat rack while still wearing all of his hockey gear from the waist down), and Chris Pronger looks like Chris Pronger. I can’t wait until tomorrow, and that’s a phrase I haven’t used for a long time (purely regarding watching hockey teams, of course.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 9:07 am

    Good article. I agree; watching snowboarders at this level is awesome/scary. Did you SEE the men’s halfpipe finals last night? Shaun White has to be on steroids. Going 20ft out of a 22ft wall pipe, spinning 3.5 times and flipping twice, and landing like it’s no big thang? RIDICULOUS.

    Also, good burn on Heatley. LEARN TO DRIVE IDIOT

  2. February 18, 2010 12:01 pm

    Holy christ, too soon. Wait, not soon enough. He seriously drives me nuts, he can snipe better than anyone, but he doesn’t try. That’s just not in his nature. His Nikolai Khavibulin-driving-style nature.

  3. Jenn permalink
    February 18, 2010 1:29 pm

    Awesome. And yeah, i agree with Jeff…I actually remember when it was a big deal for snowboarders to do a 360 and air was not moon-shuttle high!

  4. February 18, 2010 2:20 pm

    My (our) Dad even called me at work today just to rave about the snowboarders. He loves Shaun White. Awesome.

  5. February 19, 2010 9:42 am

    My dad wouldn’t do that. He’d be all “snowboarders are hackysack playing druggies” and such.

  6. February 19, 2010 11:00 am

    That’s probably cuz your old man WAS a hacky-sack playing druggie back in the day. When your mom was pregnant with you! Zing! Get it? That’s why you’re like how you are!

Leave a Reply

