Skip to content

Small Area Games

February 12, 2010

This is what you get when I don't know what sort of picture to post. Uh, I mean, Olympics!

Another awesome game last night; hits, snipes, comebacks, overtimes, epic shoot-outs, and traded former player sticks it to his old team. Fantastic hockey and a rare win for the Oilers. They’ve been playing better the past couple games, taking risks and trying to make plays, and the entertainment value of the team has rsien proportionately. If they can keep playing hard like that for the rest of the season then I for one will be a happy viewer. I’m not worried in the least that they’ll climb out of the basement because of two strong games, because as the Anaheim game showed us, a solid effort doesn’t make up for a lack of competent hockey players.

______

I discovered a new small area game that can be played with anywhere from one player to five or six. The game encourages decisions between passing (if there is more than one player) and shooting, as well as deciding what shot to choose. I used it with a five-year-old that is just learning how to skate, but the game can be played with older players as well, as it will work one-on-one scenarios and simulate game situations.

With one net in place in the crease as per usual, place another net in one of the near face-off circles facing inward, or at a 90 degree angle to the other net. The active player stands between the two nets, in the high slot, with around ten pucks. With my little guy, I pretended I was a grasshopper, and stated that I would be able to jump from net to net in order to prevent pucks from going in the net. I immediately saw results as the wheels turned in my guy’s head. What net do I shoot at? Should I use a sweep shot or a slap shot? Why is my right glove on my left hand? Will lego ever be used for real buildings? The game was on, and he buried six out of nine pucks, and had a huge smile on his face the entire time. It gave him a sense of accomplishment, and it was fun! For older players, begin with the same scenario, but make the grasshopper a defenceman trying to intercept a pass. You could also have two players open in front of either net, with two goalies. This will simulate a power-play along in addition to countless game scenarios where a player has to decide what to do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

