Skip to content

Alberta Bound

February 6, 2010

I can see the shot coming.

Standing outside to call home and wish someone a happy birthday, humid, chilly wind blowing through my soul, the shadow of the mountain hiding our conference from the busy life in the Greater Toronto Area; I realized two things: cold in Ontario is extremely cold, and I miss the Oilers. Now I’m in the middle of a four hour wait at Pearson International and I can’t get the internet to work, which is heartbraking because I know nothing about the current inner-working affairs of the team (this is being written Microsoft Word styles, later to be copied and pasted). Gilbert Brule is being sat, sure, but why? Is he on the block? Is he sitting out his 749th consecutive game due to illness? Mike Comrie scored the other night, but I can’t remember which game it was, and I don’t know what impact this will have on the Oilers re-signing him in the summer. I need someone to tell me. And by tell me, I mean I need to read about it.

The conference, however, was amazing. 3 days of hockey meetings and presentations, and lotsa laughs with people in my position throughout the company, which is North America wide. The strong personalities made for some wonderful debate, new ideas and heated exchanges.It’s pretty astounding, the field we’re all in, and how passionate everyone is. The dedication to different areas was interesting as well; some hockey people focus on individual skill development (such as myself, which means it’s the most rightest), some people are very efficient and business savvy, and some have a solid vision of the future and how hockey and skating can build the foundation for a company.

But I’m glad to be home. Edmonton vs. Colorado tonight, a couple wins under their belt, zero pressure. Right guys? Guys?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    February 8, 2010 10:13 am

    Do you really think they will re-sign Comrie?

  2. February 8, 2010 12:21 pm

    That’s a good question. I personally hope they do, he can play anywhere. A healthy Comrie with Ales Hemsky would be fun to watch, and he brings so much more to the table than Cogliano, Nillson, O’Sullivan and Pouliot.

Leave a Reply

