Skip to content

The Battle of Failberta

January 29, 2010

I'll punch the suck out of you!

I’m outta the office for the weekend, kind of like the Edmonton Oilers. But instead of an office, they’re out of hockey respectability, and instead of the weekend, they’re out for life. These are dark days (where have I heard that before), and I’m getting so fed up I’m almost ready to drop an F-bomb on my up-till-now G rated blog. Eff! The game against the St. Louis Blues last night was another satisfying O-fer in the win column, but when the only excitment happens when a guy who has been out for the entire season drops his mitts for no apparent reason, you know you’ve got a sad state of affairs on your hands. Speaking of affairs, anyone jumped off the wagon yet?

Not me, though I’m just mad as heck. All heck I tell you. I can’t believe I put up with this circus show every night. Someone cattle prod these idiots so they’ll at least do something stupid and entertain the deserving masses. This is not journalism, this is not any sort of -ism, this is a desperate fan’s plea for help. I like watching hockey, but right now that old Australian Open (whatever that means) is looking pretty appealing, and not just because of the ridiculously scandalous uniforms. Seriously though, either stop sweating or put on a horse blanket.

So I’ll still watch the Battle of Failberta tomorrow night, or the Who-Sucks-Less Showdown, but I won’t like it! Wait, that’s not even sarcasm, I probably won’t like it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    February 5, 2010 11:05 am

    I don’t think we’re jumping off the bandwagon…as fans we know when it’s time to start cleaning the house, or working outside (for those of us who live in a climate where it’s time to start gardening) rather than sit on the couch and be miserable…if the Oilers ever dig themselves out of this mess we want to be able to be behind them..watch too many of these games this season and you might never come back!

  2. February 6, 2010 1:20 pm

    This is a really solid point; this is the time to open your eyes, talk to that person in your house that keeps calling you by your first name, and hire a logging comany to cut the grass in your yard.

Leave a Reply

