Skip to content

Bills, Bills, Bills

January 8, 2010
Atta boy, just shut your eyes and hope for the best.

Atta boy, just shut your eyes and hope for the best.

A private lesson with a brand new skater-turned hockey player this morning absolutely made my day. I’d taught this little guy for six half-hour sessions prior to this morning, the focus of which was strictly skating. This included learning how to fall down and get up, learning about balanced body position, and learning how to count to ten in french and spanish. Friday mornings are always a breath of fresh air for me, and it puts standings, spring hockey, 3on3 leagues and hockey politics all in perspective.

The most important thing this morning for my brand new hockey player was shooting pucks. Was I going to take this joyful experience away from him because the private lessons are supposed to focus on skating lessons? Eff no! I could stay on the ice for hours just shooting pucks, so I was extremely excited to see this passion at such an early age! All I needed to do then was brainwash the little hombre into skating. I’d spread the smaller, lightweight blue pucks around inside the blue line, and the task was to skate to all the pucks and shoot them in the net. This took a lot longer than one might think (half the class) but he was constantly moving and acquuired a new-found joy for hockey.

One issue that I corrected was the way junior held his stick. Lots of young players twist their upper hand over the top of their stick, making it very difficult to stickhandle and shoot. This is how I corrected the situation:

1. Kneel on one knee and balance the stick on top of your massive thigh with the blade outside your body, parallel to the ice, the knob of the stick directly in front of your belly button. If you’re left handed, the blade will be out to left side of your body, righties to the right. get it?

2. For right handed players, grab the top of the stick with your left hand. Here’s the key to this whole deal: if your hand opens above the stick, your palm should be facing straight down. When you close your fingers around the stick your knuckles shuld face forward and slightly up. The bottom hand is reversed; palm faces up and forward, knuckles down and forward.

3. Hands are placed a forearms length apart on the shaft.

Now that I’ve used about one hundred hilarious words in one post,I think it’s safe to say that my mood has lightened considerably this morning, which gives me a solid feeling that I’ve chosen the proper career. Can all the Edmonton Oilers say the same? Oh Snap!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jeffreyarchibald permalink
    January 13, 2010 9:35 am

    I find your articles based around coaching super interesting. Write more of those. Or I stab you.

  2. January 13, 2010 11:14 am

    Thanks BRO!

Leave a Reply

